PDA

View Full Version : Does This Sound Scammy To You?


talent06
06-12-2009, 03:22 PM
Ok so I emailed on an ad i saw about a 3 horse slant sundowner trailer, it was priced at $2950. Which I know, sounds wayyy to good to be true considering how new it was. I asked to see pictures and more info and here's what they send along with 16 picture attachments. Sounds to me like a scam, but I really don't know. The thing that was weird to me was that in the ad it says they were in Washington, but here it says they are in Kansas....

Hello,

The trailer is available for sale. My best price for this trailer is $2,950.00 (the price is firm). I helped a friend get this trailer for himself. He ended up having to move and I took the trailer over and paid for in full. I am just wanting to get out of the trailer because I have no use for it. The price including the shipping is set at what was paid by me on the trailer. The trailer is stored to an escrow company warehouse in Wichita, KS ready for shipping and can be delivered within the US for FREE. I have attached all the pics that I've got.
Don't worry about shipping and escrow fees they are already paid by me.
If you are interested email me back and I will give you all the details on how to proceed.

Thank you!


What do you guys think?

vicklynn
06-12-2009, 03:25 PM
Scam.
I saw a 3 horse, goose neck, living quarters trailer on Craigslist and drooled over it, it was a scam and flagged ASAP. A 15 or 20 Thousand dollar trailer does not sell for 2 or 3 Thousand.

WashingtonBay
06-12-2009, 03:28 PM
Yeah - I think it sounds scammy.

Anyone else remember a trailer deal - I think it was MyHorseBud? And again with a trailer that seemed way underpriced.

Vegashorselady
06-12-2009, 03:29 PM
Oh yeah, SCAM! That trailer for that price and they don't want to charge fees to ship from Kansas to Washington? Way way way to good to be true. They'll want payment before delivery and they'll be looooooong gone with your money and you'll get no trailer.

We get those trailer ad scams on Craigslist all the time. I can tell they aren't local because it always shows this really nice trailer parked in a field with trees behind it, lol...um hello I live in the desert! There is no way it is a local picture!!!

WashingtonBay
06-12-2009, 03:33 PM
I quoted some of the text in his response and googled it... and found this:

From: Justin Mullaney (http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/434/RipOff0434115.htm)
Date: Fri, 13 Mar 2009 14:50:54 -0500 (http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/434/RipOff0434115.htm)
Subject: Re: 2007 Royal T COMPETITOR Aluminum 2 Horse Trailer (http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/434/RipOff0434115.htm)

Hi, The trailer is available for sale. My best price for this trailer is $2,300.00 (the price is firm). I helped a friend get this trailer for himself. He ended up having to move and I took the trailer over and paid for in full. I am just wanting to get out of the trailer because I have no use for it. The price including the shipping is set at what was paid by me on the trailer. The trailer is stored to an escrow company warehouse in Wichita, KS ready for shipping and can be delivered within the US for FREE. I have attached all the pics that I've got. Don't worry about shipping and escrow fees they are already paid by me. If you are interested email me back and I will give you all the details on how to proceed. Thank you! (http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/434/RipOff0434115.htm)

Steelhorserider
06-13-2009, 01:18 AM
SCAM--run away!

talent06
06-13-2009, 01:59 PM
I sent them back a nice, pleasant email;)

Gem's Mom
06-13-2009, 03:13 PM
SCAM!

I emailed back and forth with some scamers once. They said to pay for the trailer I needed to send them my social security number, bank number and some other very personal info. I asked them if they had a preference of which kidney and if they wanted my first or second born.

Blue
06-13-2009, 03:21 PM
Yea, I agree. Scam. Sounds way too good to be true! :)